Mouseover Macros

February 18, 2010

Slow progress is being made with the new Speedpad.  Still, its giving me an excuse to rewrite all my mouseover macros in the new patch 3.3 syntax.  Once upon a time I used clique, but never much liked the clicking.  As soon as I worked out some mouseover macros, I never looked back.  My preferred method by a long way.


Right, heres an example macro, followed by an explanation from the wonderful Fitzcairn’s Macro Explain-o-matic


/cast [@mouseover,help,dead,nocombat][help,dead,nocombat]Resurrection;
[@mouseover,help][help][@targettarget,help][@player]Greater Heal


So that’s the macro. Even with all the buttons the n52te gives me, I still need to double up where I can so in this case I want to cast Greater Heal if the target is alive, and Resurrection if they’re dead. Here’s Fitzcairn’s explain-o-matic explaination:

If the unit your mouse is currently over is a friend and is dead and you are not in combat then:
Cast Resurrection on the unit your mouse is currently over

Else, if the currently targeted unit is a friend and is dead and you are not in combat then:
Cast Resurrection on the currently targeted unit

Else, if the unit your mouse is currently over is a friend then:
Cast Greater Heal on the unit your mouse is currently over

Else, if the currently targeted unit is a friend then:
Cast Greater Heal on the currently targeted unit

Else, if the currently targeted unit’s currently targeted unit is a friend then:
Cast Greater Heal on the currently targeted unit’s currently targeted unit

Otherwise:
Cast Greater Heal on you


I love the way this breaks the macro down into its logical steps, as it helps me clarify how I want to order the conditionals. In the example above, I always want mouseovers of unit frames to take priority, after that I want the option of selecting a target. Most of the time my target is set to the boss, and whoever the boss is beating on could probably appreciate a heal. Lastly, if its a “save my bacon” kind of moment, then I can deselect a target and all my heals will land on me, leaving me free to run around like a headless but healthy chicken (a.k.a. Rotface mode). The whole thing comes in at 135 characters so far.


I’m currently working on adding more conditionals for shift and alt modifiers. It’ll be a tight squeeze to get everything into the 255 limit. I’ll post a finished macro, plus details of the setup once I’m done.


EDIT: Here’s an example of the kind of unwieldy nonsense I’m aiming for. If you want an explanation paste it into the explain-o-matic.

/cast [mod:alt,harm]Shadow Word: Death;[@mouseover,mod:ctrl,help]
[mod:ctrl,help][@player,mod:ctrl]Fear Ward;[@mouseover,help,dead,
nocombat][help,dead,nocombat]Resurrection;[@mouseover,help][help]
[@targettarget,help][@player]Greater Heal


So now the big question is… what can I do with my remaining 18 characters?

2 Responses to “Mouseover Macros”

  1. Inquisitor said

    #showtooltip

  2. Aleysha said

    Macaroon allow for macros bigger than 255 chars. Check it out: http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info10636-Macaroon.html

    It also allows for any bar/button setup you can dream up, visible or hidden. Have fun

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

